NHCC Women Kookaburra Cup Premiers
Date of Event North Hobart Cricket Club: Sat Mar 17, 2018 6:49PM

A strong all round performance has resulted in a Premiership win for the North Hobart Cricket Club senior Women's side in the inaugural Women's Kookaburra Cup Competition. 


As the coin was flipped at 10:00am, it landed in North Hobart's favour, and Demon Skipper Hannah Short elected to bat against South Hobart Sandy Bay at Soldiers Memorial Oval. An 81 run opening partnership between Taylah Purton (31) and Stephanie Daffara (58) saw North Hobart off to a flying start. However, the loss of Purton caused a mini collapse, as Belinda Page (6), Hannah Short (9) and Kirstin Palfrey (0) all failed to reach double figures. Despite the lower order falling around her, the hard hitting Bernadette Doyle struck 29 (46) as the Demons finished 9/183 off their 40 overs. 


Despite a steady start for the Sharks with the bat, Kirsten Allen made the early breakthrough, dismissing former Demon Angela Green for 11. Alongside Green, Carrie-Ann White (31) and Lindsay Da Costa (26) were the only two batsmen for the Sharks to reach double figures, as the Demons ripped through their lower order, bowling them out for 94 (31). Young emerging quick Grace Pullen finished off the Sharks' taking 2/14 (5), alongside Kirsten Allen, Ella Marsh and Hannah Short, who all took two wickets. 

Last updated: Saturday March 17, 2018 7:12PM
Author: Luke Williams